06
Apr
11

T.H.E. Cat 1967 custom Corvette by Gene Winfield Lost?

I have a list of starcars that are M.I.A. and have dropped off the face of the earth. Destroyed? In private collections? What ever happened to them?  One of the rarest is the black 67 custom Corvette used by Robert Loggia in his short lived series T.H.E. Cat!  The car was actually not seen that often, but it was cool enough to make a model kit of the car.

Robert Loggia starred as the title character, Thomas Hewitt Edward Cat. T. H. E. Cat is a forerunner of television characters such as The “A” Team, and The Equalizer, who skirt the edges of the law and bring skills from earlier careers on behalf of those needing more help that the police can offer. Here’s the opening of the show.

Even though it didn’t last too long, for those who saw the show, they remembered his cool Corvette!

The car was modified by Gene Winfield and sported some cool gadgets, but there is just no info on the wearabouts of this car, much less some good photos!  So if you know where T.H.E. Cat’s vette is, let me know!  There was a rumor that after the show was over the vette was sold and totaled  in Southern California.

Just one car on my list of Missing in Action star cars!  If you have a famous movie or TV car you are looking for, let me know!


5 Responses to “T.H.E. Cat 1967 custom Corvette by Gene Winfield Lost?”


  1. April 10, 2011 at 1:26 am

    I’ve been trying to find information on this car for years, but it seems like nothing exists – I can’t even find a clear shot of it being used in the show itself. The box art shows a ’67 while the actual kit is a ’66, so I haven’t even been able to confirm what year the screen-used car was.

  2. 2 robert
    February 1, 2013 at 5:36 am

    I own the original UNCLE car and one day when working on it in the alley behind my house a fellow pulled up having recognized the car and told me a story of how he owed the Corvette from THE CAT. He was being very straight forward about the car and said that he regrets the day he totaled it along side a concrete barrier on the freeway. Well, that’s the story I was told completely out of the blue. Not exactly the kind of story somebody makes up while talking to stranger. I’ve long since forgotten the fellows name so you can take my story with a grain of salt if you want, but I believed him.

    • 3 Nate Truman's starcarcentral
      February 1, 2013 at 6:42 pm

      Thanks for the story! Any info at this point is a lead for fans of “The Cat” corvette, or Catvette!

  3. 4 Jerrold
    February 23, 2016 at 7:27 pm

    Can you post the other mia cars please? I have located a few already and am always looking for more to add to my list.


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other subscribers

starcarcentral posts

April 2011
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

star car news archive

nate truman starcarcentral.com

Television and Movie cars batmobile, Delorean, Ghostbusters exto-1, Knight Rider KITT, General Lee, Herbie, the love bug, scooby doo, the A-Team and many more all gather here!

POSTS BY CATAGORY

Vote for your Favorite Movie or TV car!