16
Dec
10

“THE CAR” rises from the dead again!

In 1977 Universal Pictures released “THE CAR” which starred a possessed  modified  1971 Lincoln Continental Mark III.  James Brolin was also in it. 🙂

“WWED” What Would EVIL Drive? THE CAR!

In the shadow of “JAWS” this movie was “Jaws with a car” and at the end of the movie, both original modified Lincolns were totaled.  One by rolling, the other was set on fire and shot over a high cliff to it’s doom.  But you can’t keep an evil car down!

So for several years, one fan has been working to resurrect the evil Lincoln, and he’s done it!

Making a full scale replica in steel is nearing completion!

Now all that’s left to do is find a devil worshiping group to curse the car, and it’s ready to go!

The 2 originals were built by Barris Customs for the movie, and above, George finally got reunited with this new SON of THE CAR!   If you want a CAR of your own, thanks to a SCC honorary member – you can get a fiberglass one for your very own! You just have to sell your soul!  And honk 4 times!

Hey, maybe this car was born from the original CAR and another famous TV car?  They say girls like the bad boys! My Mother the car starred Jerry Van Dyke and one of the first cars that was the star of a show!

There are at least two  “1928 Porters” out there, anyone know where we can find the screen used  “Mother”?

At last report, there was a 1928 Porter in Alberta Canada in a private collection, and one in a museum in Tennessee, but we want one that will tour with us in Southern California!

The 1928 Porter was an actual car, made from the parts of other cars from other makers! So if you do your research, you could in theory, put one together from parts of other old cars.

Starcar Trivia: The final death of THE CAR footage, was used to double for KITT in an episode of  Knight Rider shooting off a cliff!  watch it all or go to about 3:10 in to see the shot!

Extra Credit starcarcentral.com points for finding 2 other famous tv cars in the photos above!


24 Responses to ““THE CAR” rises from the dead again!”


  1. 1 Luis
    February 1, 2011 at 2:42 am

    Hi. Congratulation your car is real awsome!!!.Well I love scale model and scalelextric. Could you give me a favor. Please send me a diagram with the real measures of this “MOD evil Lincoln” (1977) to will make a 1/32 model with a electric motor. Best Regards. Luis

    • 2 starcarcentral
      February 2, 2011 at 1:04 am

      I will send on your request to the new owner. Send in photos of your scalectric version or shots of your collection if you have more star car toys!
      Good luck!

  2. 3 David Boboc
    February 5, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Hello Nate,

    I recently found your blog about My Mother the Car. Just for the record, the two car you’ve mentioned are both screen-used cars. The car in Edmonton is owned by Dave Bodnar and was the original, or no.1 car used in most of the episodes. The second car, or stunt car, was built by George Barris and is now in the car stars museum in Gatlinburg, TN. I’ve done alot of research on the no.1 car and I’m currently working on an accurate replica.

  3. 4 mr hertz
    July 7, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    please tell me you´ll add the front bumpers and the horn.

  4. 5 Matthew Kranick
    February 8, 2012 at 1:57 am

    Hey All!! I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am to see THE CAR become a reality! This has been a passion and dream of mine to finally get to see Mr. Barris standing with what I feel to be one of the greatest of his creations. For years I have been gathering info & pictures to one day make it a reality. With the help of so many friends I have met along the way, it has become a dream come true! It was Tony Wood & George Barris himself who helped me track down a beautiful Lincoln Mark III donor car to begin the build. A build which I found to be more than out of my automotive expertise….enter another friend, Anthony Taffuri: he took over the project after my initial deconstruction of the Lincoln, and made it into what it is today. Reason for no bumpers & grill?? Anthony in turn, sent it to BATRODZ in Long Island, to have a fiberglass body pulled so eventually I could have one to build my own replica!!! I cannot wait to get it…so anxious to begin. But again, just to name some people who have helped make this happen, and who I call true friends;…George Barris, Tony Wood, Anthony Taffuri, Jim at Batrods, Inc., Chris DeFalco, Jack Orrel, everyone at chickslovethecar.com & 1966batmobile.com & last but not least, Nate Truman & StarCarCentral who stood behind me from the start and helped me believe it would happen!!!! Thanks Nate!!!

    -Matthew Kranick

    ()O[III]O()

    • 6 Nate Truman's starcarcentral
      February 10, 2012 at 4:42 am

      I could tell from your first email years ago, you were going to get it done! Congrats! Can’t wait to get a ride!

  5. 7 Case
    September 30, 2012 at 3:24 am

    Where would a clone of “The Car” be purchased at?

    Thank you.

    • 8 Nate Truman's starcarcentral
      September 30, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      There is a mold in the works, but not sure if they are planning on selling kits or finished cars.

      • 9 Case
        October 2, 2012 at 1:19 am

        Thank you Nate for the response. I found BATRODZ LLC out of Mattituck NY: (631) 722-5555 that offered a fiberglass replica kit-$6,500. However, the website indicates that they has discontinued it as of 03/12. I have a call into them to verify.

  6. October 3, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    hey thats an awesome car…..love the movie and i would really love to own one of those cars….if there is any way i could get one plz let me know

  7. September 28, 2013 at 5:35 am

    Wow! I can’t tell you how much I’ve fantasized about one day owning a version of “the car” Since I first saw the movie, I said to myself that is one cool car. Over the years I’ve bought different formats of the movies, vhs, beta and DVD. Just watched the movie again on Netflix. Can you give some of the details and specs of the car? What motor, are the chrome bumpers going in, will there be a version to buy…all just a dream of course right now…but there is something about this car….can’t explain it really….anyway good on you for bringing back “The Car”, I am sooo jealous…truly amazing!

    • 12 Cameron
      January 9, 2014 at 12:59 pm

      I am going to build this car. I’ve been a huge fan of the movie and I must own The Car. As I am a welder, I am going to build a full steel replica, bumper and all. This has been a dream if mine for years, I’ve located a donor car, now the horn and deciding on what to do to the motor to make it sound like Satan had something to do with it. I will keep fans posted of the build. I’m sure glad I just got a plasma cutter as it looks like George really went to town on the build. Sculpting the headlights should be fun. This is going to be a labor of love and I see allot of hours and around $20k to make my dream a reality.

  8. 13 paul
    March 22, 2014 at 8:55 pm

    hello, I have a mk3 lincoln continental and let me know if BATRODZ was a serious site to order a complete kit fiberglass for this car.
    I can not seem to reach them by mail.
    I’m from France.
    thank you very much for your response.

    • 14 Nate Truman's starcarcentral
      March 22, 2014 at 10:55 pm

      Hey Paul, Do you want a “CAR” or a batmobile? I will see if I can reach him.

      • 15 paul
        March 23, 2014 at 6:12 am

        hi, i want is that “death car”.
        I wanted to know as it is the name of the wheels and their dimensions and address or you can buy them? thank you

  9. 16 Dave Boboc
    April 30, 2014 at 2:31 am

    Just a note to anyone looking for a fiberglass replica body of “The Car “. Apparently the mold was destroyed when a tree fell on it and it was subsequently cut up and disposed of. Batrodz isn’t very good at updating their site; as I was interested in a body as we’ll and found out about a year after the fact.

  10. 17 paul
    April 30, 2014 at 4:54 am

    hi, you will build a mold?

    • October 23, 2014 at 10:05 pm

      Hi everyone on this site. I love THE CAR, I also worked on the first of three cars built at the Barris shop.I watched a show last night where they were building one for a customer. They didn’t know the difference between the steel & fiberglass cars. They should have asked George. An way it is so cool to see that there is interest in this VERY COOL CAR, Papa Jay Papa Jay’s Hot Rods

  11. 19 BeTrollinYou
    January 20, 2017 at 3:03 am

    Your article is not accurate with IMBD site clearly stating there were 4 lincoln continentals built for the movie “the car”.
    http://m.imdb.com/title/tt0075809/trivia

    Not sure but seems like there may be an original or two still out there…

    • 20 Nate Truman's starcarcentral
      January 25, 2017 at 1:05 am

      That’s a rumor, but this “private collector” story has never been found. I spoke with Barris, and he stated they built only three, and they were all destroyed. It would be great if one was still around!
      Here’s the imdb you referenced under “Trivia”

      “There were four cars built for the movie. One was used for close-ups whilst three were used for stunt work. Two of the cars were destroyed in the course of making the movie. One of the cars is kept in a private collection.

      The make and model of “the car” was a 1971 Lincoln Continental Mark III black coupe.

      In order to give “the car” a “sinister” look as requested by director Elliot Silverstein, car customizer George Barris made the car’s roof three inches (7.6 cm) lower than usual and altered its side fenders that same length again both higher and longer.

      The technical specifications of the four versions of “the car” were as follows. They were built on a Lincoln Mark III chassis with a 460 cubic inch engine and deep-recessed chrome-plated Cragar wheels. The 18-gauge steel frame weighed 5500 pound, was 20 ft (6 m) long and 9 1/3 ft (2.8 m) wide. The cars’ bodywork was painted in steel, pearl and charcoal coloring. The cars’ windows were laminated in two different shades, smoked on the inside and amber on the outside, so one could see out of it but not into it.”

  12. 23 Muhamnad
    June 25, 2018 at 5:20 pm

    Hi guys,

    I’m very interested in the metal replica ” THE CAR”…Do you know where I can buy one..!

    • 24 Nate Truman's starcarcentral
      June 26, 2018 at 11:53 pm

      According to my research, there was only one metal replica made, and molds were pulled to make fiberglass ones. Apparently there was a fire and those molds are gone.


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other subscribers

starcarcentral posts

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

star car news archive

nate truman starcarcentral.com

Television and Movie cars batmobile, Delorean, Ghostbusters exto-1, Knight Rider KITT, General Lee, Herbie, the love bug, scooby doo, the A-Team and many more all gather here!

POSTS BY CATAGORY

Vote for your Favorite Movie or TV car!