09
Feb
18

Building the “FALL GUY” Truck

In my continuing blogs about building star cars, here’s a fun one that not too many people attempt, “Colt Sever’s” aka Lee Major’s truck from the “Fall Guy” series. From the builder himself, here is his journey to get his own version of the famous stunt truck!

 

BUILDING THE “FALL GUY” TRUCK, by Bryan D. Conrad

Well, I’m not the kind to kiss and tell…………oh wait a second, yes I am! Here’s the story of how my Fall Guy replica truck came to be. I grew up in the era of 80’s car shows and while I enjoyed all of them, my very favorites were The Fall Guy, The Dukes of Hazzard, and Streethawk. In fact, on my 5th birthday I got the Fall Guy truck and General Lee on the same day!

1

From that moment on I dreamed of having one of those two vehicles and I always leaned towards the General Lee. As I got older I realized that decent Chargers were hard to come by and I found that there were thousands of General Lee’s in the US; so that became less desirable to me. I started focusing my attention to The Fall Guy and collecting data over the years of what the specs were on the truck and I kept an eye out for a truck to start my build.

In 2005 I found a truck that I nearly bought, but through certain circumstances I couldn’t make it happen, so the search went on. I had no intention of putting the truck in a museum or just to pull it out on a nice weekend. I wanted the truck to be my truck, one that I drove every day and took on family vacations. Finally, in May 2016 I found the truck that would work. I wanted a decent body with no rust and I wanted a 2500. I found a 1987 Chevy V20 Camper Special.

345

Before you begin building a vehicle from movies or television, there are many, many things to consider. In the case of The Fall Guy, I had to decide which version of the truck I wanted to build or a hybrid truck of several versions. In the pilot episode, a 1980 GMC High Sierra truck was used. It had a different roll bar, 6” round off-road lights for the grille guard and roll-bar, there was no hood decal, and the color scheme was slightly different.

 

2

From the second episode of season 1 through season 2, they used 1981 GMC Sierra Grande trucks. The roll-bar had been changed, larger round off-road lights (8” instead of 6”) were added, the hood decal was added, and the brown and gold paint scheme was used.

From season 3 to the end of the show, they used different trucks depending on need and availability: 1981 GMC Sierra Grande’s, 1983-1984 GMC Sierra Classics, and for the jump trucks, most often used was a 1980 GMC High Sierra (from the pilot). Again, like all TV and movie cars, I had to determine what I wanted to focus on and in my case, since I had the most screen footage of season 1 and season 2 (because they were available on DVD), and I liked the look of those trucks the best, I chose to replicate as much as possible, the unit 1 truck from season 1.

One of the barriers from the very beginning was to take a Chevy and retrofit it to be a GMC. While the body, engine, and many other parts are exactly the same, the issue was going to be that GMC changed the Sierra Grande trim package in 1982 to High Sierra. That means, that the Sierra Grande fender emblems changed in 1981 and were only available for one year! Making a 1981 Sierra Grande fender emblem virtually impossible to find. In fact, to this day I’ve never seen a 1981 GMC Sierra Grande truck in the flesh. But more about my Chevy to GMC conversion later.

The other consideration I had to quickly decide if I was going to do or not, was the secret compartment in the side of the truck. Almost every car from the 80’s needed something to make it “cool” and not just a stock vehicle. For The Fall Guy, it was the secret compartment (see below). After much consideration, I didn’t have the time, money, or know someone that could do that level of customization; so I left it on my “maybe someday” list.

I began watching every season 1 episode with the truck and taking screen shots of the truck. I studied those pictures to try and determine every aspect of the truck. Just three weeks after purchasing it, I started tearing it down to take it to the body shop to get it painted.  The paint color was one of the most difficult to determine, because depending on the lighting, the lens of the camera, and multiple other factors the color looked different in various shots. There was no “real” Fall Guy truck in a museum to go and compare it with, so I was on my own to try and determine the color. And because of the paint used and process with clear-coating it also makes the color look different. I spent hours and hours trying to find the combination I thought was most like the truck. The body shop would spray a couple of test pieces and I would quickly decline it, but eventually I found the combination I liked. The actual show truck is the front half and my truck is the back half (see below):

6

It took 9 weeks to have the truck painted, during that time I continued to research the show and buy things I needed. I had a room in our basement that I quickly dubbed, “the parts room.”

78910

My next big hurdle was to get the hood decal made. I didn’t have a hi-res logo to use, so I hired a logo design company to recreate The Fall Guy logo. It took about three weeks and several corrections for me to be happy with the logo. I then sent it to a custom vinyl decal company to have them print it.

 

1112I used the above picture to determine the size I was going to need and measured it out on the hood of my truck. While waiting for my truck to be painted, I purchased all new exterior parts. I had to buy a new front bumper that had the turn signals in the bumper like they did in 1981. I bought a 1981 GMC grille and headlight bezels, I bought new mirrors, new side marker lights, new rear bumper, new windshield, a 102” whip antenna and ball mount, a chrome roll bar, and red double pinstripe tape.

13141516171819Finally, my truck was painted and I was ready to start putting it together. Once I had it put back together I started to focus on turning it into The Fall Guy truck. I first had to find some 1981 Sierra Grande 2500 fender emblems. I after several weeks I found a pair on eBay, but they were Sierra Grand 3500 emblems instead of 2500, but they would have to do for now (it was certainly better than nothing!) However, something that was “close” was never going to be good enough for me. It was driving me crazy, not having the right fender emblems. After a few more months of searching every day, I found a pair of Sierra Grande 2500 emblems! That was an exciting day for me, in fact, I had not seen any before nor since and consider it a blessing from the Lord!

2021

Everyone has their own idea of what a Fall Guy truck should look like and each person has their own set of things that make it a Fall Guy truck. For me, it was the grille guard. As I added the roll bar and hood decal, I had many people say, “That made the truck right there, that looks awesome.” But I had seen a handful of Fall Guy replica trucks on the internet and most didn’t have the grille guard and if they did, it looked nothing like the one from the show. For me, it just wasn’t a Fall Guy truck without the grille guard. I knew I had my work cut out for me. Before I had purchased the truck, I had already done hours of research trying to figure out how in the world I was going to custom make it. I had no dimensions, nothing I could physically go look at, it was going to have to be all by pictures. Finally, after weeks of research I devised my plan.

 

I took this picture: I then projected the image onto a wall with a piece of poster board taped to it, measured the front of my truck and then blew the image up until it was the size I wanted. I then traced out the design and put it onto a piece of plywood. I cut the plywood out and got some PVC tubing to make a mock of the grille guard. I then took it to a steel fabricator and had it made. Unfortunately, this was not the end of it, I would still have more obstacles to overcome before it looked the way I wanted it. So I put on the double pinstripe, roll bar, hood decal, and antenna and ball mount; it had come a long way, but there was a still a long way to go.

 

2223242526

I had purchased four 8” round off-road lights and I was able to find two Cibie square lights for the light bar. I got the grille guard back after about four weeks and I mounted the lights on the light bar and grille guard. While the average person thought the truck looked wonderful, I was not satisfied with some of the results. 1) the light bar was on top of the roll bar (it was behind the roll bar on the show) 2) the hoops on the grille guard were just off, it was too wide and too long 3) I wanted the tops lights to be spaced more like the show 4) I wanted the light covers changed from saying Pro Comp to saying Super Off-Roader 5) I still needed bigger tires 6) I needed to find a Warn 8274 winch.

 

272829The first step, was to take the grille guard back off my truck and take it the steel fab shop. I explained what I wanted and asked if they could fix it for me. They assured me they could. And just over 5 months later and numerous visits; they called to let me know it was done. So, for about 5 months the truck got put on hold and I had to be satisfied with working on a few minor fixes here and there. Once I got the grille guard back and was pleased with how it looked, it was full steam ahead on the build. The same week I got the grille guard back, I was able to find a Warn 8274 winch from 1985, and it was perfect for what I wanted. I gave the winch a fresh paint job and then put the grille guard and winch on my truck.

In my eyes, it was finally starting to take shape, there were just a few glaring problems left. The truck is a true 2500 and was a Camper Special; which meant without any weight in the back it was a VERY stiff ride. So I wanted to address ride quality, while also addressing raising the truck and putting on bigger tires. The show truck had an approximate 4” lift. I wanted to stay around that same height, but in the end I put on a 6” lift to ensure that the tires could clear. There were a couple of articles done during the mid-point of the show on The Fall Guy truck in a couple of off-road magazines. One of the articles stated that the trucks used Dick Cepek Fun Country tires, size: 36x15x16.5. Mickey Thompson bought Dick Cepek and while they still make an updated version of the Dick Cepek Fun Country tire, they are nowhere close to being that big anymore. So once again, I had to decide which “authenticity” I wanted to go with. Did I want my tires to be Dick Cepek Fun Country’s or did I want them to be a different brand, but closer to the correct size? I chose with having them closer to the correct size, I loved the look of the big tires. I found some Mickey Thompson mud-terrain tires that were 36x15x16.

 

3031

The next problem were the wheels. On the show they had chrome 8-spoke wagon style wheels, but I wasn’t able to find any wheels that would actually fit my tires, so I opted for a polished 16×10 wheel. With the lift and tires on, it was really starting to take shape: Like all star car lovers, the fun is in the details. Details that no one else would ever even look at or think about.

One of big quests for the “little details”, was finding a Warn sticker for the cross bar of the grille guard and putting the GMC grille emblem on the front of the grille guard. Both of those items in the show were used purely for advertising, but I had to have them! Now that I was getting close to being done (well, not really done……but ya know…..shhhh don’t tell my wife!) I wanted to turn my attention to the light bar. It bugged me that the lights were on top of the roll bar, so I went and had a 3 foot piece of square aluminum tubing cut so that I could place it behind the light bar and I wanted the lights spaced more like they were in the show. Since I was focused on the first season truck, I wanted the top round lights to have black soft light covers and the two on the grille guard to have hard plastic Super Off-Roader light covers. 8” lights are nearly unheard of now, so it took some research to find some soft light covers. In season 2, they changed to have all the round off-road lights have the white Super Off-Roader covers. I found some KC vinyl light covers and it took me about 10 coats of black paint to finally get the big KC logo covered on them. Sadly, the lights still weren’t quite right; now they sat too low. Back to drilling out my roll bar! I then started working on the Super Off-Roader light covers. Super Off-Roader products aren’t made any more so I went back to the logo company and had them recreate the Super OffRoader logo. It wasn’t exact, but it was good enough for me……..kinda….. I then had the task of sanding off the Pro Comp embossed logo on the front so I could smooth it down and paint it. That process alone was hours of work and I had given up on it at one point, but came back to it a few weeks later and finished the job. I then had to wet sand them, paint them, wet sand them again, and then finally put the final coat of paint on them so that they would look how I wanted.

323334So here’s the mostly…..somewhat…..almost……maybe someday be finished…..result: I am still working on re-doing the Super Off-Roader light covers. While they are very close……just a little off for my taste. I found an original light cover and am trying to get that duplicated. I am also getting ready to lower the truck just a little bit, so that I can have it closer in height to the show truck. Also, the truck on the show had a specific Dick Cepek truck step; one that is virtually impossible to find. I have made a mock of one and have taken it to the steel fab shop that did my grille guard and am having them make the truck step for me. So, with any luck, in 6 months to 6 years, I’ll finally have it! This truck build has been a labor of love and joy for me and I hope you’ve enjoyed going on the journey with me.

35363738

This is a great example of the detail work that Star Car owners and builders go to in an effort to be able to drive their dream screen cars!  Thanks Bryan for a great build, and sharing the photos!  Post your comments or questions here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


38 Responses to “Building the “FALL GUY” Truck”


  1. February 11, 2018 at 9:25 am

    Nate, great article. What was Mark’s last name from Camarillo CA? He had the Black Beauty.

    Harold from Big Sky Montana, batcar1@yahoo.com

  2. 3 Harold Blalock
    February 11, 2018 at 5:21 pm

    Nate, great article. What was Mark’s last name from Camarillo CA? He had the Black Beauty.

    Harold from Big Sky Montana, batcar1@yahoo.com

  3. 5 Harold Blalock
    February 11, 2018 at 5:22 pm

    Please reply and thank you.

  4. 6 tony
    March 31, 2018 at 4:08 pm

    can you tell me what company u used to have the hood decal done, I would like to have one made also, do you mind if we use your proof and sizes??? (can you reply to my email also) wsatvs@newnorth.net?

  5. 7 mel kremer
    April 6, 2018 at 4:51 pm

    My little brother down in Tennessee has one of the original jump trucks that has the motor and transmission in the middle of the truck.

  6. 9 Chad Goertz
    April 13, 2018 at 12:05 am

    Very well done Harold. Are you able to get any more of the hood decals made? I’m building the same truck. thanks in advance!

  7. 10 Vern Selig
    November 21, 2018 at 9:43 pm

    I grew up watching the Fall Guy too. Loved the truck! Always wanted a replica myself. Never got around to building one. This one is very very well done. I am glad the Fall Guy truck lives on in these replica projects. Thank you.

  8. 11 Frank Fogel
    December 13, 2018 at 1:45 am

    Without the secret compartment doors on the bed , it will NEVER be a FallGuy truck .
    Too much wasted time on insignificant stickers and not enough on essential details .

  9. 12 Justin Wilkens
    February 7, 2019 at 6:03 am

    What an awesome build! Oddly, the only part of that show I remember as a kid was that lifted GMC

  10. 13 Jim
    May 20, 2019 at 3:35 pm

    Great build!! Would you mind sharing the brown and gold color names you used?reat build.

    • 14 stan mcdonald
      May 18, 2022 at 8:50 am

      Did you ever get the paint code for the fall guy truck as per the question you posted on Star Central? I like his color better. Thanks

  11. 15 Allan
    July 1, 2019 at 9:00 pm

    Great truck
    I wanted to talk with you about the 3500 emblems if you still have them.
    a_schramm2006@yahoo.com. Please E-mail me.
    Thanks

  12. 16 Jenny
    August 14, 2019 at 6:55 pm

    Hi, if you ever want to sell please email me Jenny.holmes@live.com

  13. 17 ROBERT SANFORD
    January 9, 2020 at 8:13 pm

    It is fantastic what you have done to the truck I run a body shop and a customer has brought me a 2003 2500 to turn into a fall guy truck
    We’re deep into the job putting a new western box on new doors new fenders new rockers and cab corners I’m in Nova Scotia so everything down here is heavily rusted in those years so we’re putting everything new anyway problem I’ve run into is finding the proper paint codes to match the colours of this Truck and I was wondering if there was anyway you could help me to get the correct paint codes so we will also have an awesome looking fall guy truck
    Thanks again ROBERT SANFORD of ROBERT SANFORDs AUTOBODY

  14. 19 Hol
    March 2, 2020 at 1:40 pm

    Hi. Is this for salsa?

  15. 21 Marc
    April 20, 2020 at 8:56 pm

    Great job! The truck looks really amazing!!!
    I have the same problem getting the hood decal or even a good vector graphics. It’s nearly impossible and a lot of garbage out there – but your one is .. perfect!!! If you still have the file … would you think of selling me a copy so that I can let it print here in Germany for my truck ? Thank you in advance 🙂 BR Marc (shadow678@outlook.de)

  16. 22 Eric
    May 6, 2020 at 1:25 am

    Would love to get one of those hood Stickers for my Jeep. Can you share who did it for you so I can see if I can buy one? From them or you. Please let me know

  17. 23 SHAWN LARISON
    September 10, 2020 at 6:54 pm

    Is the “first version” of the grille guard for sale or do you fab any?

  18. 24 RUSS
    October 11, 2020 at 4:52 pm

    do you have any of the patterns for the bumper guard build i could get ( drawing, measurements)

  19. 26 Craig Smith
    January 2, 2021 at 4:44 pm

    I don’t suppose you are willing to sell the Vector drawing of the logo?

  20. 28 John spanovich
    September 6, 2021 at 7:30 pm

    Did anyone build a replica of the Hardcastle and McCormick judge’s tough truck it was also a Gmc it was silver and black with red pin stripes on it. I absolutely love the fall guy truck.

  21. 29 Sahra
    September 18, 2021 at 4:52 pm

    Hello
    please excuse my bad English
    my name is sahra and i come from germany
    I’ve been a huge fall guy fan since I was a kid
    the truck is of course the star
    your truck looks amazing
    at the moment i am fulfilling a dream and with the help of my father i am also building a truck for myself
    The most important thing for me is of course the logo on the hood
    I would be very grateful if there was a possibility that I could get one of those
    would you like me sell a copy of your file so that I can have one printed
    I would be very happy
    Thanks very much
    greeting
    sahra

  22. 30 Sam Chicovsky
    April 16, 2022 at 1:18 am

    I would like some more information about the hood decal please.

    • 31 Nate Truman's starcarcentral
      May 20, 2022 at 2:37 am

      I haven’t heard back from Brian, who built the truck. I reached out to another builder to see if he knows where to get the sticker and the paint codes!

    • 32 stan mcdonald
      May 20, 2022 at 2:49 am

      I am in the process of dealing with the hood decals and will make them available for those who want them. Send me an email to smcdonal@kos.net

  23. 33 stan mcdonald
    May 18, 2022 at 8:30 am

    Can you provide me the paint color codes for the paint you selected, I think it looks better then the one used on the show. Thanks in Advance. You have inspired me.

  24. 34 Devan
    June 15, 2023 at 9:57 pm

    I’d love to know how to fabricate that fall guy bumper guard. Any tips or schematics of measurements or dimensions?

  25. 35 Mike Blevins
    August 17, 2023 at 1:49 am

    Thanks for sharing your journey! I am planning a similar project. Can you share any specifics? Paint codes, wheels, lift manufacturer, grill hard and winch support info etc?

  26. 37 Elizabeth Ceballos
    November 14, 2023 at 11:41 pm

    I can’t find a good paint code ANYWHERE!!! Do you mind sharing what paint codes you used for this build? Answer: I’m pretty sure they are standard paints from that year make and model.


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 399 other subscribers

starcarcentral posts

February 2018
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

star car news archive

nate truman starcarcentral.com

Television and Movie cars batmobile, Delorean, Ghostbusters exto-1, Knight Rider KITT, General Lee, Herbie, the love bug, scooby doo, the A-Team and many more all gather here!

POSTS BY CATAGORY

Vote for your Favorite Movie or TV car!